This Tender Land

This Tender LandFor fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace n n1932, Minnesota the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native

The Night Watchman

The Night WatchmanBased on the extraordinary life of National Book Award winning author Louise Erdrich s grandfather who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C., this powerful novel explores themes of love and death with li

A Thousand Moons

A Thousand MoonsA dazzling new novel about memory and identity set in Paris, Tennessee in the aftermath of the American Civil War from the Booker Prize shortlisted author Sebastian Barry n nWinona Cole, an orphaned child of the Lakota Indians, finds herself growing up in an unconventional household on a farm in West

Barkskins

BarkskinsIn the late seventeenth century two penniless young Frenchmen, Ren Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France Bound to a feudal lord, a seigneur, for three years in exchange for land, they become wood cutters barkskins Ren suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged

Treasured Grace (Heart of the Frontier, #1)

Treasured Grace (Heart of the Frontier, #1)Tracie Peterson Begins Compelling New Series Set on the 1840s FrontierGrace Martindale has known than her share of hardship After her parents died, raising her two younger sisters became her responsibility A hasty marriage to a minister who is heading to the untamed West seemed like an opport

Song of the Lion (Leaphorn & Chee, #21)

Song of the Lion (Leaphorn  & Chee, #21)A deadly bombing takes Navajo Tribal cops Bernadette Manuelito, Jim Chee, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, back into the past to find a vengeful killer in this riveting Southwestern mystery from the bestselling author of Spider Woman s Daughter and Rock with Wings n nWhen a car

The Tale Teller (Leaphorn & Chee #23)

The Tale Teller (Leaphorn & Chee #23)Legendary Navajo policeman Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn takes center stage in this riveting atmospheric mystery from New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman that combines crime, superstition, and tradition and brings the desert Southwest vividly alive n nJoe Leaphorn may have retired from the Tri

Surviving the City (Surviving the City, #1)

Surviving the City (Surviving the City, #1)Tasha Spillett s graphic novel debut, Surviving the City, is a story about womanhood, friendship, colonialism, and the anguish of a missing loved one Miikwan and Dez are best friends Miikwan is Anishinaabe Dez is Inninew Together, the teens navigate the challenges of growing up in an urban lands

Indian No More

Indian No MoreRegina Petit s family has always been Umpqua, and living on the Grand Ronde reservation is all ten year old Regina has ever known Her biggest worry is that Sasquatch may actually exist out in the forest But when the federal government signs a bill into law that says Regina s tribe no longer exists

LaRose

LaRoseIn this literary masterwork, Louise Erdrich, the bestselling author of the National Book Award winning The Round House and the Pulitzer Prize nominee The Plague of Doves wields her breathtaking narrative magic in an emotionally haunting contemporary tale of a tragic accident, a demand for justice, a

Cave of Bones (Leaphorn & Chee #22)

Cave of Bones (Leaphorn & Chee #22)New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman brings together modern mystery, Navajo traditions, and the evocative landscape of the desert Southwest in this intriguing entry in the Leaphorn, Chee, and Manuelito series n nWhen Tribal Police Officer Bernadette Manuelito arrives to speak at an outdoo

An American Sunrise: Poems

An American Sunrise: PoemsIn the early 1800s, the Mvskoke people were forcibly removed from their original lands east of the Mississippi to Indian Territory, which is now part of Oklahoma Two hundred years later, Joy Harjo returns to her family s lands and opens a dialogue with history In An American Sunrise, Harjo finds b

Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story

Fry Bread: A Native American Family StoryFry bread is food nIt is warm and delicious, piled high on a plate n nFry bread is time nIt brings families together for meals and new memories n nFry bread is nation nIt is shared by many, from coast to coast and beyond n nFry bread is us nIt is a celebration of old and new, traditional and modern, si

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time IndianBestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all white farm town high school where the only other Indian is t

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee: An Indian History of the American West

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee: An Indian History of the American WestNow a special 30th anniversary edition in both hardcover and paperback, the classic bestselling history The New York Times called Original, remarkable, and finally heartbreakingImpossible to put down n nBury My Heart at Wounded Knee is Dee Brown s eloquent, fully documented account of the system