Adjustments by Will Willingham

Adjustments by Will WillinghamEnter to win one signed copy of Adjustments: A Novel, by Will Willingham.

By turns thoughtful and hilarious (even, inexplicably, both at the same time), this deeply Midwestern book quietly unfolds a vision for how to navigate in a world where we can’t always resolve things.

It begins with an old man's call to the insurance company to get a minor house repair covered. Once the adjuster shows up, a journey both tender and tough is set in motion.

As much as the characters have a relationship with poetry and story (and they do), it is also a profound book about naming both the things that have held us back and the things we want, to move us forward.

3

Categories: urban-studies

Hall of Mirrors by Robert Carlile

Hall of Mirrors by Robert CarlileEnter for a chance to win one of 30 pre-release copies of the novel HALL OF MIRRORS by Robert Carlile. Here is a short synopsis:

Chris Creighton, 17, is surprised to learn that in appearance, he resembles a pair of identical twins, Alex and Max, separated since birth. Alex, abandoned by his mother, has followed a dark path—violence, drug trafficking, murder. Max, adopted by a prominent family, is a hero on the high school basketball court. The Hall of Mirrors at the amusement park becomes the focus of where Chris and Max confront Alex. With identical images of the three swirling on all sides, Alex threatens them both. Chris has to find a way to save himself and Max from the catastrophe Alex has planned for them.

4

Categories: m-m-mystery

Wicked Bite by Jeaniene Frost

Wicked Bite by Jeaniene FrostEnter to win one of five SIGNED galley copies by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Jeaniene Frost!

Veritas spent most of her life as a vampire Law Guardian. Now, she’s about to break every rule. If she gets caught, she could lose her job...and her life.

Ian’s memories might be fragmented, but this master vampire isn’t about to be left behind by the woman who entranced him, bound herself to him, and then disappeared. So what if demons, other Law Guardians, and dangerous, otherworldly forces stand against them? Come hell or high water, Ian intends to remind Veritas of the burning passion between them, because she is the only person seared on his mind—and his soul…

"Fierce and satisfying...a breathtaking paranormal romance." Kirkus, starred review.

5

Categories: family

Beneath the Ashes by Dea Poirier

Beneath the Ashes by Dea PoirierA troubled detective learns that the fires of the past are still burning in this haunting, emotional thriller.

When detective Claire Calderwood is called to a grisly murder scene, she’s haunted by memories of her murdered sister. The victim is tied to a motel bed, her head covered in plastic and her body sprinkled with ashes. Claire’s dealt with vile crime scenes before, but this one strikes close to home.

Claire’s boyfriend, reporter Noah Washington, once helped find her sister’s killer, but now he’s a distraction to this new investigation. She wants to help him resolve the mysteries of his past, but Noah has been distant, and Claire knows he’s keeping something from her.

When another girl is murdered like the first, Claire suspects the work of a serial killer. As the case heats up and evidence mounts, she finds herself in profound danger. Claire’s been burned before; now she must decide if she can trust Noah to help her solve the case and uncover the truth that lies beneath the ashes.

9

Categories: fae

Sorcery Reborn by Steve McHugh

Sorcery Reborn by Steve McHughHe doesn’t need a weapon. He is the weapon.

After losing his powers in an epic battle between good and evil, former sorcerer Nate Garrett finds himself living as a humble human in Clockwork, Oregon. While the world thinks Nate is dead, his friends continue to fight against Avalon and the evil it’s intent on spreading.

Avalon’s forces turn up in Clockwork, and Nate’s frustration grows with every passing day his magic doesn’t return. He finds himself trying to stop Avalon’s plans while hiding from enemies who would destroy everything in their path to see him dead.

Avalon’s darkness begins to threaten the people Nate cares about, and an old nemesis returns; magic or no magic, he has no choice but to fight. But will Nate see his magical powers reborn before the entire town—and everyone he loves—is destroyed?

9

Categories: shonen

The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper

The Gravity of Us by Phil StamperEnter to win one of 5 ARCs of Phil Stamper's THE GRAVITY OF US! In this smart, heart-warming YA debut perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, two teens find love when their lives are uprooted for their parents’ involvement in a NASA mission to Mars.

Cal wants to be a journalist, and he’s already well underway with almost half a million followers on his FlashFame app and an upcoming internship at Buzzfeed. But his plans are derailed when his pilot father is selected for a highly-publicized NASA mission to Mars. Within days, Cal and his parents leave Brooklyn for hot and humid Houston.

With the entire nation desperate for any new information about the astronauts, Cal finds himself thrust in the middle of a media circus. Suddenly his life is more like a reality TV show, with his constantly bickering parents struggling with their roles as the "perfect American family."

And then Cal meets Leon, whose mother is another astronaut on the mission, and he finds himself falling head over heels--and fast. They become an oasis for each other amid the craziness of this whole experience. As their relationship grows, so does the frenzy surrounding the Mars mission, and when secrets are revealed about ulterior motives of the program, Cal must find a way to get to the truth without hurting the people who have become most important to him.

3

Categories: airships

How to Save Your Child from Ostrich Attacks, Accidental Time ... by James Breakwell

How to Save Your Child from Ostrich Attacks, Accidental Time ... by James BreakwellEnter for a chance to win 1 of 50 copies of How to Save Your Child from Ostrich Attacks, Accidental Time Travel, and Anything Else that Might Happen on an Average Tuesday!

The parenting humorist behind the viral Twitter account @XplodingUnicorn and author of Only Dead on the Inside: A Parent’s Guide to Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse presents the long-awaited guide to surviving everything else

In the era of instant parent shaming and viral hot takes, some questions are too dangerous to ask out loud: What's the proper first aid for my toddler’s vampire bite? What should I do if I take a wrong turn on the way to soccer practice and end up in the Cretaceous Period? How can I fend off Godzilla without disrupting my child's nap?

Fortunately, there's now a parenting resource that answers those burning questions and many more.

Professional comedy writer and amateur father James Breakwell’s latest book tackles more than 90 survival challenges ordinary parents might encounter in their everyday lives, including:

- How to protect your child against tigers, penguins, mastodons, and other animals found in the suburbs.
- How to defeat ghosts, gremlins, mummies, and any other supernatural force that might prevent you from getting your kid to bed on time.
- How to survive crashing horses, trains, hot air balloons, and other vehicles you might find in the carpool lane.

6

Categories: bolivia